Enjoy the news from across the country about the best thirty seconds in sports, greyhound racing.

Loads of in depth articles, from several of our partner racetracks, and from different greyhound related websites around the United States.

Check out the Feature of the Month below and click on the titles to the right for great stories throughout the greyhound industry.
AGTOA Conference Rescheduled
2016 All-American Team
2015 All-American Team Announced
All American Fat Lady
bestbet Derby
2014 All-American Team Announced
Lee Opera Hit 16 Sweet Notes
Gronk Breaks Own Track Record
Art Laughlin Honored with AGTOA Lifetime Achievement Award
Rob Gronkowski Team Captain
2014 All-American Team Announced
Joey Ice, multiple stake winner and track champion at Derby Lane last year, has been named captain of the 2014 All-America team.

The 2014 eight-member squad—which is the 52nd All-America team in history (dating back to 1963)—is sponsored by the American Greyhound Track Operators Association (AGTOA).

Others named to the 2014 team are Flying Titanium (Southland), Lee Opera (Orange Park), Husker Magic (Derby Lane), Rob Gronkowski (Palm Beach), U Too Pure Silk (Southland), Boc’s John Luke (Bluffs Run) and Kiowa Leer Loyd (Wheeling).

The only females on the team are Lee Opera and Husker Magic. All eight team members this time around happen to be sprinters, and two team members are repeaters from the 2013 squad.

These eight stars will be honored with All-America plaques at the Greyhound Hall Of Fame awards ceremony on Thursday night, Apr. 23, during the NGA Spring Meet in Abilene, Ks.

Owned by Joey Lingle of Blair, Ok., U Too (Kiowa Sweet Trey-Queen Rania) won both major sprint stakes at St. Pete in 2014—the $64,000 Sprint Classic in the spring and the $50,000 Fall Sprint. Racing for the Capabal Kennel, he charted a 12-race win streak and two 9-race win streaks at Derby Lane during the year. Runnerup in the T.L. Weaver Memorial at Derby Lane, Joey Ice was track champ during the spring season with a 31-5-1 record in 39 starts. His 46-10-3 record in 64 starts for the year was tied for second-best nationally.

Flying Titanium (Flying Hydrogen-CTW Twang Thang), owned and raced by S. Lester Raines, easily captured the track title at Southland, posting a 34-8-3-5 mark in 58 starts (10 wins ahead of his nearest rival). He won the Southland People’s Choice Challenge, and finished second in both the Southland Sprint Derby and the Southland Darby Henry Sprint Championship.

Lee Opera (Soprano Drive-Lee Devin), owned by Robert Gurley and raced by Lester Raines, ran up a lengthy list of stake wins at Orange Park in 2014: the Orange Park Sweet 16 Stake, the $50,000 James J. Patton Silver Cup, the $12,500 Orange Park JGR Puppy Stake, and the Orange Park Anniversary Stake. She finished third in the Orange Park Holiday Extravaganza. Boasting a 10-race win streak during the year, Lee Opera was easily the top winner at the North Florida track, sporting a 40-9-3-2 record in 66 outings.

Husker Magic (Rhythmless-Casino Zada), owned by Haber Kennels and raced by Abernathy Kennel, was track champion during Derby Lane’s fall meet, charting a 29-3-5-1 mark in 44 starts. She tied for second with fellow St. Pete campaigner Joey Ice in the national win race with 46 wins (46-9-7-2 in 75 starts at Derby Lane). Husker Magic had an 11-race win streak in ’14 and ran second in the Derby Lane Gold Trophy Juvenile, third in the Derby Lane Fall Sprint and fourth in the Derby Lane Sprint Classic.

Rob Gronkowski (Switzler Jammin-Chatty Cathy), owned by Steve Sarras and raced by Norm Rader, is one of the repeaters from last year’s team (in fact, he captained the 2013 squad). Injury curtailed his career part way through 2014—but not before he’d won the $50,000 Palm Beach He’s My Man Classic and the $50,000 Palm Beach Art Rooney St. Patrick’s Invitational. He also broke his own track record at Palm Beach with a 29.01 clocking, and boasted 11 wins in 12 starts at the Palm Beach oval.

U Too Pure Silk (Kiowa Sweet Trey-U Too Silk), owned and raced by Charter Kennel, is the other repeater from the 2013 All-America team. The veteran sprinter won the Southland Darby Henry Sprint Championship and was a finalist in the Southland Sprint Derby and People’s Choice. The 2013 track champ posted a 22-8-7-7 record in 53 starts in 2014—the same number of wins he notched in 2013 at the premier track.

Boc’s John Luke (Super Lee-Antsie Nancy), owned and raced by Brad Boeckenstedt, was the class performer at Bluffs Run in 2014, capturing the $60,000 Secretary Choice Stake, the $60,000 Bluffs Run Open and running second in the rich Iowa Bred Classic. He was also track win champ at Bluffs, sporting a 24-13-4 record in 52 starts.

Kiowa Leer Loyd (Kelsos Fusileer-Kiowa Kay Tipton), owned by Smith Greyhounds, Inc. and racing for Cardinal Kennel, took home the Wheeling Kellas Memorial Sprint Stake in 2014. He also captured the track’s win title with a 24-7-8-2 record in 51 starts.

Since 2002, an All-America Second Team has been named each year by AGTOA. The 2014 Second Team is comprised of Sharon L. Williams’ Seldom Told (Gulf Greyhound Park), Atascocita Racing’s Atascocita Gray (Southland), James and James E. Blanchard’s B’s Graciebswift (Naples/Dubuque), Jeff Cole’s & Alan Hill’s Hilco Klassy (Bluffs Run), Alan Hill’s & Brian Smith’s Superior Product (Dubuque), Vince Berland’s Flying Facepaint (Orange Park), Shannon Henry’s JS Speedypebbles (Palm Beach) and Atascocita Racing’s Atascocita Kosta (Gulf). It was the second year in a row that Superior Product and JS Speedypebbles were named to the second team.
Palm Beach Kennel Club
1111 North Congress Avenue
West Palm Beach, FL 33409
P - 561.688.5799
F - 801-751-2404
Sally Briggs - President
Dennis Bicsak - Office Coordinator